Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations      HubGarden      Recipes

The Mousetrap: Review

Home > Birmingham > Performing Arts | Shows | Theatre | Theatre Reviews | July
by Tony Collins (subscribe)
I am a freelance writer specialising mainly in health and education and living in Staffordshire. Find me on Linked In
Event: -
Classic Murder Mystery Loses None Of Its Suspense
Such is the amazing and enduring legacy of Agatha Christie's The Mousetrap that at the end of each show a member of the cast asks the audience not to reveal the murderer's identity to anyone else. Whether this has always been the case I don't know, but it may well explain why I had no idea 'whodunnit' until watching the play for the first time.

The Mousetrap, Lewis Collier, Gregory Cox, Amy Downham
Lewis Collier as Sgt Trotter, Gregory Cox as Mr Paravicini and Amy Downham as Miss Casewell. Credit Liza Maria Dawson


The Mousetrap, which is appearing at the Lichfield Garrick theatre from April 4-9, is currently enjoying a UK-wide 60th anniversary tour having already chalked up more than 26,000 performances at its regular London home - making it the longest running show of any kind in the history of the theatre.

And, despite having first been performed in the 1950s, The Mousetrap clearly has lost none of its appeal as a wonderful suspense-filled thriller that has audiences trying to guess the identity of the killer right to the end. Let's hope the secret remains intact for another 60 years at least.

The Mousetrap, Louise Jameson
Louise Jameson stars in The Mousetrap. Credit Liza Maria Dawson


In Agatha Christie's own inimitable style the drama is set in a country house cut off by a snowstorm on the first week that it opens as a guest house. A varied array of guests turn up ranging from an over-exuberant young architect and a strict, complaining woman to a retired army major and a foreign stranger whose car apparently ended up in a ditch in the snow.

But then news emerges of a murder nearby which could have devastating consequences for one or more people in the house. Unfortunately I can say no more other than the suspense and intrigue gradually heighten as the plot becomes ever more intricate.

The Mousetrap, Louise Jameson, Oliver Gully. Credit Liza Maria Dawson
Louise Jameson and Oliver Gully in Agatha Christie's classic whodunnit


A splendid cast is led by former Tenko, Doctor Who and EastEnders actress Louise Jameson as the archetypal 'grumpy old woman', but major plaudits also go to everyone else on stage, in particular Anna Andresen as guest house owner Mollie Ralston and Oliver Gully as the frantic Christopher Wren.

Any remaining tickets for The Mousetrap are available priced £17 to £28.50 from the Lichfield Garrick online or by calling the Box Office on 01543 412121. Performances continue until April 9.

The Mousetrap
The Mousetrap is enjoying its 60th anniversary production


Rating: 8/10

FUTURE TOUR DATES
11–13 April Regent Theatre, Stoke www.atgtickets.com/venues/regent-theatre 0844 871 7649
14-16 April New Victoria Theatre, Woking www.atgtickets.com/venues/regent-theatre 0844 871 7649
18-20 April De Montfort Hall, Leicester www.demontforthall.co.uk 0116 233 3111
21-23 April Liverpool Empire www.atgtickets.com/venues/liverpool-empire 0151 702 7320
25-30 April Embassy Theatre, Skegness www.embassytheatre.co.uk 01507 613100
2-7 May Harrogate Theatre www.harrogatetheatre.co.uk 01423 502 116
9-14 May Severn Theatre, Shrewsbury www.theatresevern.co.uk 01743 281281
16-21 May Orchard Theatre, Dartford www.orchardtheatre.co.uk 01322 220 000
23-28 May Octagon Theatre, Yeovil www.octagon-theatre.co.uk 01935 422 884
30 May-4 June The Courtyard, Hereford www.courtyard.org.uk 01432 340 555
6-11 June Derby Theatre www.derbytheatre.co.uk 01332 59 39 39
13-18 June Kings Lynn Corn Exchange www.kingslynncornexchange.co.uk 01553 764864
20-25 June Salisbury Playhouse www.salisburyplayhouse.com 01722 320 333
27 June-2 July Opera House Manchester www.atgtickets.com/venues/opera-house-manchester 0844 871 3018
4-9 July Aylesbury Waterside Theatre www.atgtickets.com/venues/aylesbury-waterside-theatre 0844 871 7607
18-23 July Princess Theatre Torquay www.atgtickets.com/venues/princess-theatre-torquay 0844 871 3023
25-30 July Venue Cymru Llandudno www.venuecymru.co.uk 01492 872000
1-6 August Jersey Opera House www.jerseyoperahouse.co.uk 01534 511 115.
8-13 August Bristol Hippodrome www.atgtickets.com/venues/bristol-hippodrome 0844 871 3012
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  36
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Why? Agatha Christie's Classic 'Whodunnit' Shows No Sign Of Ageing
When: 4 April to 13 August 2016
Phone: 01543 412121
Where: Lichfield Garrick, Castle Dyke, Lichfield WS13 6HR
Cost: Tickets £17 to £28.50
Your Comment
Top Events
Popular Articles
Categories
Lists
Questions