Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations

Stephen K Amos UK Tour Review

Home > Norwich > Comedy | Shows | Theatre
by Tony Collins (subscribe)
I am a freelance writer specialising mainly in health and education and living in Staffordshire. Find me on Linked In
Event:
The "Laughter Master" Lives Up To The Billing Despite Delay
Sometimes the name of a comedian's stand-up tour makes very little sense.

But Stephen K Amos certainly hit the nail on the head when he christened his latest UK comedy tour "The Laughter Master".

Stephen K Amos
Stephen K Amos was in great form at Lichfield Garrick


In fact, Stephen needed to be at his hilarious best just three dates into his brand new tour when he was significantly delayed by an accident on the M40 motorway and arrived on stage at the Lichfield Garrick Theatre in Staffordshire almost an hour late.

Fortunately, he very quickly got the audience on his side as he focused his two-hour show around the conflict that exists in the world today, from internet trolls and grumpy air stewards to the causes of the current refugee crisis.

Lichfield Garrick Theatre
The main stage at Lichfield Garrick


Stephen, who was earmarked for a legal career before comedy proved too hard to turn down, is clearly a very talented comedian with his talent honed during some 15 years on the stand-up circuit.

And despite a degree of television fame created by regular appearances on shows such as Live At The Apollo and Mock The Week, he stills seems happiest and most natural in front of a live audience.

Stephen K Amos
The Laughter Master on new UK tour


He certainly enjoyed his rapport with several members of the audience, ranging from a supermarket delivery driver to a teenager looking for a career in the prison service.

But he also dealt very well with a couple of negative hecklers, although why anyone would want to expose themselves like that is beyond me.

Lichfield Garrick
Almost an hour late but well worth the wait


Stephen is both black (obvious!) and gay (less so), but he does not allow either status to dominate his stand-up show.

Instead he relies on genuinely funny material to find his laughs, such as how fathers and sons do the sexual awareness 'talk' and the fact that names beginning with K (his middle name) are "in" due to the likes of Kim Kardashian.

However, he does reminisce amusingly about his time growing up in London with strict Nigerian-born parents and eight siblings.


Rating: 8 out of 10


Remaining tour dates

November

13 Margate Theatre Royal www.theatreroyalmargate.com


14 New Milton Forest Arts Centre www3.hants.gov.uk/forest


15 Bristol Tobacco Factory www.tobaccofactorytheatres.com


17 Bordon Phoenix Theatre www.phoenixarts.co.uk


20 Maidenhead Norden Farm norden.farm


21 Maidenhead Norden Farm norden.farm


December

2 Aldershot West End Centre www3.hants.gov.uk/westendcentre


4 Guildford Electric Theatre www.guildford.gov.uk/electrictheatre


5 Didcot Cornerstone www.cornerstone-arts.org


6 Milton Keynes The Stables www.stables.org


10 Colchester Arts Centre www.colchesterartscentre.com


11 Millom Beggar's Theatre www.beggarstheatre.co.uk


12 Barnard Castle The Witham www.thewitham.org.uk


January

15 Worcester Huntingdon Hall www.worcesterlive.co.uk


16 Birmingham Old Rep Theatre www.oldreptheatre.org.uk


17 Pocklington Arts Centre www.pocklingtonartscentre.co.uk


22 Bury St Edmunds Theatre Royal www.theatreroyal.org


23 Buxton Pavilion Arts Centre www.buxtonoperahouse.org.uk/pavilion-arts-centre


24 Salford The Lowry www.thelowry.com


25 Leeds City Varieties www.cityvarieties.co.uk/Online/default.asp


26 Liverpool Unity Theatre www.unitytheatreliverpool.co.uk


28 Swansea Grand Theatre (studio) www.swansea.gov.uk/swanseagrandtheatre


29 Swansea Grand Theatre (studio) www.swansea.gov.uk/swanseagrandtheatre


30 Hertford Hertford Theatre www.hertfordtheatre.com


31 Canterbury Gulbenkian www.thegulbenkian.co.uk


February

3 Norwich Playhouse www.norwichplayhouse.co.uk


4 Farnham Maltings www.farnhammaltings.com


5 Radlett Radlett Centre www.radlettcentre.co.uk


6 Andover The Lights www.thelights.org.uk


7 Epsom Playhouse www.epsomplayhouse.co.uk


8 Stevenage Gordon Craig Theatre www.gordon-craig.co.uk


9 Newbury Arlington Arts Centre www.arlingtonarts.co.uk


10 Tewkesbury Roses Theatre www.rosestheatre.org


11 Wimborne Tivoli Theatre www.tivoliwimborne.co.uk


12 Coventry Warwick Arts Centre www.warwickartscentre.co.uk


13 London Hackney Empire www.hackneyempire.co.uk
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  36
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Why? A Fun-Filled Night Of Comedy
Phone: 01543 412121
Where: Lichfield Garrick, Castle Dyke, Lichfield, Staffordshire WS13 6HR
Cost: 17 a ticket
Your Comment
Articles from other cities
Related
by Alison Brinkworth on 23/10/2017
by Tony Collins on 15/07/2017
Popular Articles
Categories