Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations
 

Hannah Pickering Profile

Home > London > Community > Hannah Pickering
Subscribe to Hannah Pickering
Share:
email  facebook  twitter
City: London

I am a graduate from Bath Spa University, having studied a BA in Creative Writing, I have received a 2.2. I would officially like to be a writer of novels and poetry, but Iím applying for the Freelance Games Editor Job, with the Company, to work at home. Iím twenty five years old and have been born and bred in Cardiff and still live here. I am unemployed at the moment, on job seekers allowance. I'm happy to commute or to move away from home or to work at home.
I had a job with www.yelp.com as a Marketing/Writer assistant for the companyís website. I wrote articles about local companies in Cardiff, took photographs and researched the companies after I attended the places I wrote about. I wrote the information in Microsoft word program and uploaded it to my profile page on the website (I am still on the website). It is a bit like Facebook where anyone can upload there information and add people to follow them and talk to people by the email links to each others profiles and review pages. I worked at home with this job.
I have different themed blogs including a travel theme one and do have copies of the work that I wrote during the work experience opportunities. I love to travel and would one day love to do travel writing as a profession and would like to write about the places I travel too and take photographs. I would really like to have it all published not only in blog style; but also put into magazines, books about certain places I have travelled too and anywhere else Iíll travel too. I long to travel the world one day. I am also on Facebook, Twitter, Myspace, and am on the www.flixster.com website which you can write reviews about films and TV programs.
During my time at Bath Spa University I took modules that related to journalism and the publishing world, to help me understand such career services. I have never been published, but I am a hard worker, and I am determined to progress in these subjects of work. I love to travel and enjoy taking photographs and would love to learn more about the art of photography.
I use word regularly and I have used the PowerPoint system many times and excel. In some of my spare time I also take pleasure in making craft items such as cards and putting scrapbooks together. I have used Apple Macís and the Indesign programme also.
Before University I studied for two years at Coleg Glan Havfren (now known as Cardiff and the Vale College) in Cardiff, studying a Media and Film course, which was BTEC National Diploma course as was the Media course at Saint Davidís College.
Iím a very creative person and love being so, am passionate about the media and about achieving a career within that area of the working world. I have excellent computer skills and use my laptop everyday and the internet. I have even taken computer courses in the past and love doing computer work and am quick at learning how new computer programmes work.
I'm very good with my computer skills and use a laptop and the internet every day. I am ambitious and whiling to learn more skills and on the job am pretty good at learning new skills. I'm organised, ready for work, committed, I prefer taking orders rather than giving them, I have plenty of team work experience and enjoy working in teams and on my own. I am very friendly, polite to customers, patient, I live to serve others. I am keen to do more volunteer work and more work experience.
I'm setting up my own website using the Dreamweaver CS4 programme and Photoshop Elements 7, I have been taking a Webpage Design Basics course at Pentwyn Centre and am properly going to go onto the Intermediate level next year and then unto the advanced level. I am happy to commute or to move from Cardiff. I have also studied a Digital Camera Basics course at Rummney centre in Cardiff, with the use of my Lumix camera and have learnít how to use Photoshop Elements 7 also.
I am a very hard worker, who is kind; caring, and am flexible with my time, trust worthy, a passionate Christian, and am reliable. I have done work experience with The Bath Chronicle Newspaper, The Echo Newspaper, as a journalist and Wanderlust Travel Magazine, Buzz Magazine as an editorial assistant and as a publications assistant with Contact a Family Charity; where I have helped edit the seasonal newsletter, inputted data into a Microsoft Excel spread sheet, I did research online and saved it Microsoft word, and used the telephone to make calls and to answer them, the work is currently ongoing.

Weekend Notes (1)
Activities (0)
Places (1)
Events (0)
Questions (0)
Lists (0)
Photos (0)
Foods (0)
Quick Events (0)
Sales (0)
Invites
Comments
Todo List
Done List
Subscriptions
Map
Writer Rank: 274
cub writer
Readers: 57
Articles: 1
Rank Calculation:
57 =
[57] +
[5 x 0] +
[10 x 0]
x 0.5
x 0.5
x 0.5
My WeekendNotes - 1
The entertainer Toy Shop in Queen's Arcade is a fantastic shop desperate to serve the best customer service that you wil... [more]