Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations

Marvellous Imaginary Menagerie UK Tour Preview

Home > Birmingham > Comedy | Indoor | Music | Theatre
by Tony Collins (subscribe)
I am a freelance writer specialising mainly in health and education and living in Staffordshire. Find me on Linked In
Event: -
Dare You Enter The Caravan Of Mysterious Misfits?
Roll up, roll up, for one of the most amazing experiences you are ever likely to see.

The Marvellous Imaginary Menagerie is the creation of innovative theatre group Les Enfants Terrible which promises to provide audiences with a touch of the mysterious, magical and magnificent all rolled into one.

Marvellous Imaginary Menagerie
Marvellous Imaginary Menagerie takes to the road (credit Richard Davenport)


The colourful show, which embarks on a UK tour including a date at the Lichfield Garrick theatre in March, is set around an exotic caravan that has suspiciously arrived in town filled with curiosities and a crew of mysterious misfits.

Dr Longitude and his team of 'experts' will guide theatre-goers through a puppet-packed, lyrical and magical musical tour of the Menagerie's finest exhibits.

If you've ever wanted to count a Decapus's, legs, wondered what a Whistling Pank eats, or lick a Tresillian Toad, then this is apparently for you!

Marvellous Imaginary Menagerie
See the caravan of mysterious misfits on show


Run by Oliver Lansley, who founded the company in 2001, and James Seager, Les Enfants Terrible is dedicated to creating original, innovative and exciting theatre with the use of props, puppetry and live music.

Previous work includes award winning, international stage shows such as The Trench, and The Terrible Infants and The Vaudevillains, and large scale public events for the likes of Save the Children, the British Library and the V&A.

Marvellous Imaginary Menagerie and its caravan of strange characters will arrive at the Lichfield Garrick on March 18 as part of a series of dates around the country.

Lichfield Garrick
Lichfield theatre-goers are in for something strange


Tickets for the show, which starts at 7pm, cost 10 for adults and 8 for children, and can be booked online at www.lichfieldgarrick.com or by calling Lichfield Garrick's Box Office on 01543 412121.

Remaining UK Tour Dates

FEBRUARY

27th New Theatre Royal, Portsmouth www.newtheatreroyal.com 023 9264 6477

MARCH

2nd Lyceum Theatre, Crewe www.crewelyceum.co.uk 01270 368 242
5th Palace Theatre, Newark www.palacenewark.com 01636 655755
9th Hunt Theatre, Felsted www.felsted.org 01371 822619
12th Lighthouse, Poole www.lighthousepoole.co.uk 0844 406 8666
13th The Welfare, Ystradgynlais www.thewelfare.co.uk 01639 843163
17th Burnley Mechanics www.burnleymechanics.co.uk 01282 664400
18th Garrick Theatre, Lichfield www.lichfieldgarrick.com 01543 412121
20th The Atkinson, Southport www.theatkinson.co.uk 01704 533 333
24th Royal Spa Centre, Leamington Spa www.royalspacentreandtownhall.co.uk 01926 334418
25th Greenwich Theatre www.greenwichtheatre.org.uk 020 8858 7755
29th The Castle, Wellingborough www.thecastle.org.uk 01933 270 007
30th Borough Theatre, Abergavenny www.boroughtheatreabergavenny.co.uk 01873 850805

APRIL

1st Square Chapel, Halifax www.squarechapel.co.uk 01422 349422
2nd Pocklington Arts Centre, York www.pocklingtonartscentre.co.uk 01759 301547
3rd Helmsley Arts Centre www.helmsleyarts.co.uk 01439 771700
5th Carriageworks Theatre, Leeds www.carriageworkstheatre.org.uk 0113 376 0318
6th Stourbridge Town Hall www.dudley.gov.uk/entertainment 01384 812812/ 0870 320 7000
7th Otley Courthouse www.otleycourthouse.org.uk 01943 467466
8th King's Hall, Ilkley www.bradford-theatres.co.uk 01274 432000
9th Lyceum Theatre, Sheffield www.sheffieldtheatres.co.uk 0114 249 6000
10th Pomegranate Theatre, Chesterfield www.chesterfieldtheatres.co.uk 01246 345 222
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  35
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Why? A Magical Mysterious Experience Awaits
When: 27 February - 10 April 2016
Phone: 01543 412121
Where: Lichfield Garrick, Castle Dyke, Lichfield, Staffordshire WS13 6HR
Cost: 10 for adults, 8 for children
Your Comment
Articles from other cities
Top Events
Popular Articles
Categories
Lists
Questions