Houdini's Greatest Escape - 2024 UK Tour

Houdini's Greatest Escape - 2024 UK Tour

Post
Subscribe

Posted 2023-11-02 by Tony Collinsfollow

Tue 06 Feb 2024 - Sun 19 May 2024


An award-winning theatre company has come up with the ultimate 'escape' for those people wanting to get away from winter storms and the cost of living crisis.

New Old Friends , in association with Yvonne Arnaud Theatre, is to present Houdini's Greatest Escape, which will open in February 2024 and tour the UK throughout Spring, including dates at the Lichfield Garrick Theatre in Staffordshire from 25 to 27 April next year.

Almost 100 years ago today, Harry Houdini performed his final disappearing trick. Every year since, magic enthusiasts across the world have held Halloween seances in an attempt to solve the great escapologist’s last mystery. Surely if anyone could cheat death it would have been Houdini! New Old Friends cannot promise to shed any light on that story but they do have a brand new one - which they will be presenting to audiences during 2024.

What really happened to Harry Houdini


Harry Houdini is the world’s greatest entertainer. Just as his death-defying escapology stunts have him, and his wife Bess, on the cusp of a career-defining performance for King Edward, he finds himself framed for murder by a gang of criminals in cahoots with the chief of police. Can Harry and Bess escape the plot and clear their names? And how is their rival, The Superstar Spiritualist medium, Agatha, involved? All will be revealed in this hilarious 39 Steps-esque thriller, played out in New Old Friends’ inimitable, award-winning style of physical comedy, sparkling wit and just a touch of chaos.

Featuring a hard-working cast of four playing multiple roles on an almost harder-working set, this show promises to have audiences laughing and gasping throughout at the magic of theatre and the ‘real’ magic of illusions designed by TV’s Pete Firman (Netflix Good Omens / BBC One’s The Magicians). The cast includes Ben Higgins as Harry Houdini, Lydia Piechowiak as his wife Bess, with many other characters played by Kirsty Cox and Adam Elliott.

Almost 100 years since the famous magician disappeared


Houdini ‘s Greatest Escape is written and directed by Feargus Woods Dunlop, who said: “This is a show we have wanted to make for years and are over the moon that the company in finally in a position to realise the vision of blending our slightly chaotic ‘overtly theatrical’ nonsense with some genuine illusions. Researching and ‘getting to know’ Harry and Bess Houdini has been fascinating and this, entirely fictional, episode in their crusade against fraud mediums has been a huge amount of fun to create. We can’t wait to share it with the country.”

Yvonne Arnaud Theatre added: “We are thrilled to be working with a company with such unashamed and passionate commitment to entertainment and can’t wait to present Houdini to our audiences next year."

For tour details and more information visit www.newoldfriends.co.uk

The Lichfield Garrick theatre


Listings
06 – 10 February Yvonne-Arnaud Guildford www.yvonne-arnaud.co.uk
13 & 14 February Northampton Royal & Derngate www.royalandderngate.co.uk
15 & 16 February Mercury Theatre Colchester www.mercurytheatre.co.uk
22- 24 February Theatre Royal Winchester www.theatreroyalwinchester.co.uk
27 February Middlesbrough Theatre www.middlesbroughtheatre.co.uk
28 & 29 February The Dukes Theatre Lancaster www.dukeslancaster.org

05 & 06 March Lawrence Batley Theatre www.thelbt.org
08 & 09 March Theatre Royal Bury St Edmunds www.theatreroyal.org
12 & 13 March Lowther Pavilion www.lowtherpavilion.co.uk
14 March Newbury Corn Exchange www.cornexchangenew.com
15 March New Theatre Royal Portsmouth www.newtheatreroyal.com
19 – 21 March Key Theatre, Peterborough www.keytheatre-peterborough.com
23 March Worthing Theatre www.wtm.uk
26 & 27 March Salisbury Playhouse www.wiltshirecreative.co.uk
28 – 30 March Eastbourne, Devonshire Park www.eastbournetheatres.co.uk

02 April Darlington Hippodrome www.darlingtonhippodrome.co.uk
03- 06 April Bolton Octagon www.octagonbolton.co.uk
10 April Wakefield Theatre Royal www.theatreroyalwakefield.co.uk
18 – 20 April Eden Court Inverness www.eden-court.co.uk
24 April The Courtyard, Hereford www.courtyard.org.uk
25 – 27 April Lichfield Garrick www.lichfieldgarrick.com
29 April Hawth, Crawley www.parkwoodtheatres.co.uk/the-hawth

01 May South Hill Park www.southhillpark.org.uk
02 – 04 May The Theatre Chipping Norton www.chippingnortontheatre.com
07 & 08 May New Wolsey Theatre, Ipswich www.wolseytheatre.co.uk
09 – 11 May Haymarket, Basingstoke www.anvilarts.org.uk
14 – 16 May Exeter Northcott Theatre www.exeternorthcott.co.uk
17 -19 May Mast Mayflower Studios www.mayflowerstudios.org.uk

#theatre_shows
#comedy
#tour
%wnstaffordshire
267881 - 2023-11-02 16:23:27

Tags

Music
Outdoor
Community
Theatre_shows
Family_friendly
Festivals
Arts_culture
Free
Educational
Food_drink
Markets
Theatre
Family
History
Comedy
Copyright 2022 OatLabs ABN 18113479226