Funny Women Awards 2014

Funny Women Awards 2014


Posted 2014-06-05 by Bastion Harrisonfollow

Sat 19 Jul 2014 - Thu 31 Jul 2014

For some reason there is this urban myth spread about that we can't do comedy. Do you ever get annoyed by misogynists who claim women aren't funny? Sometimes I just want to walk up to them and slap them round the face with a wet fish - or at least whack them on the nose with a sardine.

I don't understand how anyone could think that women are not funny when there are so many successful female comedians and humorous actors. Among my list of favourites you will find Victoria Wood, Julie Walters, Judi Dench, Celia Imrie, Dawn French, Miranda Heart, Miranda Richardson, Sue Perkins, and Mel Giedroyc - many of whom I actually find funnier than men.

Lynne Parker feels the same way as me, which is why in 2002 she set up Funny Women . It is a platform to help women find their voice through a variety of different mediums, whether that be performing, writing, or using humour in business and everyday life.

In 2003 she launched the Funny Women Awards to acknowledge women who had managed to break into the male dominated comedy world. Amongst those decorated were Bridget Christie, Susan Calman, Katherine Ryan, Andi Osho, Kerry Godliman, Sara Pascoe, Zoe Lyons, Holly Walsh, Sarah Millican.

The awards are open for anyone to enter , with a registration fee of £15. So if you have a knack for making people laugh, why not have a go? The categories include comedy writing, comedy shorts, and best all-rounder.

If you prefer to be entertained rather than the entertainer, then you can go and see the show for £10 at Leicester Square Theatre on the 29th July.

Funny Women also run workshops . Stand Up to Stand Out helps average women who suffer from butterflies when it comes to public speaking; learn a few tricks of the comedy trade to boost your confidence and presentation skills. There will also be a comedy writing workshop on the 19th July at Leicester Square Theatre.

!date 19/07/2014 -- 31/07/2014
64769 - 2023-01-20 01:53:36


Copyright 2024 OatLabs ABN 18113479226