Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations      HubGarden      Recipes

Cirque Du Soleil Varekai - UK Tour

Home > Glasgow > Circus | Dancing | Family | Performing Arts
by Alison Brinkworth (subscribe)
Freelance journalist in Birmingham with a passion for the dynamic theatre, art, food and fashion scene in Britain's 'Second City'.
Event: -
Circus Performance Inspired By Romany Travel
Cirque Du Soleil has taken inspiration from the language of the gypsies for its latest colourful adventure of acrobatics and dance.

The word Varekai (pronounced ver-ay-kie) means "wherever" in the Romany language and this magical tale is billed as taking families on a journey to "wherever".

Varekai, UK Tour, Cirque du Soleil, London
A colourful adventure from Cirque du Soleil


Directed by Dominic Champagne, this production pays tribute to the nomadic soul, to the spirit and art of the circus tradition, and to those who quest with infinite passion along the path that leads to Varekai.

The story is set in the mysterious world of Varekai, a world deep within a forest atop a volcano where anything is possible. To kick off the story, a solitary young man falls from the sky and the audience follows him as he makes a journey discovering an array of fantastical creatures.

Varekai, UK Tour, Cirque du Soleil, London
Fantastical creatures feature in the new show


This is the first UK arena tour for the production, which has been updated to include new acts.

Cirque Du Soleil will perform Varekai in the UK from February in Sheffield before heading to Dublin, Newcastle and Leeds.

It then continues to Birmingham, Nottingham and Glasgow until March 19.

Varekai, UK Tour, Cirque du Soleil, London
Cirque du Soleil has become famous worldwide for its acrobatic shows


Cirque du Soleil began life in Quebec, Canada, as a group of 20 street performers in 1984, but gained fame for its acrobatic feats around the world. The company now has 4,000 employees, including more than 1,300 performing artists in nearly 50 different countries.

Varekai, UK Tour, Cirque du Soleil, London
The UK tour of Varekai takes in most major cities


Varekai - UK Tour dates

Tickets for Cirque du Soleil's show Varekai cost from £51.43 to £62.68 and are available from the Ticket Factory website or by calling 0844 33 88 222.

SHEFFIELD, Sheffield Arena
Thursday 2 February, 8.00pm
Friday 3 February, 8.00pm
Saturday 4 February, 4.00pm
Saturday 4 February, 8.00pm
Sunday 5 February, 5.00pm

DUBLIN, 3Arena
Wednesday 8 February, 8.00pm
Thursday 9 February, 8.00pm
Friday 10 February, 8.00pm
Saturday 11 February, 4.00pm
Saturday 11 February, 8.00pm
Sunday 12 February, 5.00pm

NEWCASTLE, Metro Radio Arena
Wednesday 15 February, 8.00pm
Thursday 16 February, 8.00pm
Friday 17 February, 8.00pm
Saturday 18 February, 4.00pm
Saturday 18 February, 8.00pm
Sunday 19 February, 5.00pm

LEEDS, First Direct Arena
Wednesday 22 February, 8.00pm
Thursday 23 February, 8.00pm
Friday 24 February, 8.00pm
Saturday 25 February, 4.00pm
Saturday 25 February, 8.00pm
Sunday 26 February, 5.00pm

BIRMINGHAM, Genting Arena
Wednesday 1 March, 8.00pm
Thursday 2 March, 8.00pm
Friday 3 March, 8.00pm
Saturday 4 March, 4.00pm
Saturday 4 March, 8.00pm
Sunday 5 March, 5.00pm

NOTTINGHAM, Motorpoint Arena
Wednesday 8 March, 8.00pm
Thursday 9 March. 8.00pm
Friday 10 March, 8.00pm
Saturday 11 March, 4.00pm
Saturday 11 March, 8.00pm
Sunday 12 March, 5.00pm

GLASGOW, The SSE Hydro
Wednesday 15 March, 8.00pm
Thursday 16 March, 8.00pm
Friday 17 March, 8.00pm
Saturday 18 March, 4.00pm
Saturday 18 March, 8.00pm
Sunday 19 March, 5.00pm

For tickets, visit the Cirque du Soleil website.
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  20
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Why? See Cirque du Soleil's new show
When: Tour Feb to March 2017
Phone: Various see tour list
Where: UK tour including SSE Hydro in Glasgow
Cost: From £51
Your Comment
Articles from other cities
Popular Articles
Categories
Lists